It is one thing to have bad economy and there’re not many jobs there,
it is even worse to apply for those fake job ads and blindly hope for
the interview calls coming.
The fake, bogus job ads I am referring to, are those tailored made for
H1B, Green card applicants. The purpose of these ads is solely to
collect the resumes for the facilitation of the H1B, Green Card
applications. There is absolutely no hope for any real job offer if
you apply for them, and it wastes of your valuable time and energy.
The fake job I am mentioning here is different from the job
description fraud. (e.g., see the following web sites). The job
descriptions are probably mostly true, but the no actual hiring is
intended.
http://jobsearch.about.com/b/2009/05/22/how-to-spot-a-bogus-job-ad.htm
http://www.indiaworking.com/article/6/
Rather, I am talking about fake, intentionally misleading, no-
intentional-to-hire job ads. But the job is actually there, just
already taken.
The H1B/Green Card process is to take the job first for the alien, and
then apply for the Labor Certification, I-140, I-485 later or
concurrently.
(1) Nowadays most job ads do not show contact information. But if a
person’s name, email address, etc. are specifically mentioned in the
job ad. You should be take a close look.
(2) If a job functionality and description seem to be vague, simple,
non-specific, and every IT person seems to be qualified, be caution.
(3) If a very specified salary is mentioned, it should be cautioned.
(Such as $73,150/year instead of $60k-80K DOE)
(4) If a job requirement requires a highly qualified (Master Degree)
for common IT job (System Analyst), it is a red flag.
(5) If all resumes are asked to send to P.O. Box# in Texas even the
hiring company in other place, it is a guaranteed a fake job ad. (See
your local Sunday Newspaper to find such ads - esp. archived ones few
years’ back)
Examples:
(1) This job description is so simple. It seems every one can apply.
In addition, why are the recruiter’s email enclosed in the ads
(margaret.skinder@ajilon.com, camila.mauris@ajilon.com)?
http://jobview.monster.com/GetJob.aspx?JobID=81285334
http://jobview.monster.com/GetJob.aspx?JobID=81285736
(2) Again, why is ad giving contact address?
http://www.careerbuilder.com/JobSeeker/Jobs/JobDetails.aspx?IPath=QHKCV&f=
f=21&APath=2.21.21.0.0&job_did=J3H1HB6T30T6FNQVL2Z
http://www.careerbuilder.com/JobSeeker/Jobs/JobDetails.aspx?IPath=QHKCV&f=
f=21&APath=2.21.0.0.0&job_did=J3G2TY6GDVR79JCML1V
By the way, did you notice the wording “multiple openings”? It is to
save money to apply for a single Labor Certificate that will be used
for multiple H1B’s.
(3) Why does this job require Master Degree? The loosely job
description seems any IT worker is qualified.
http://cleveland.jobnewsusa.com/job/E618O636C636E618L618K615.aspx
(4) This is almost certainly an H1B fake job ad, because the job
description is so vague for a J2EE developer, and the wage is specific
to the penny.($26.07/hour). Furthermore, detailed contact information
is exposed.
https://ohiomeansjobs.com/omj/jobseeker/jobsearch/posting.do?type=JOBORDE=
R&id=491496
Note - Labor department and Immigration authority have specific
requirements for H1B job ads. That’s why the ads are written the way
they are. For example, must be permanent job, full-time job, not part-
time, contract (3 or 6 months). Otherwise it is not qualified for H1B
or Green Card.
See the reference page here:
http://usavisanow.com/lcgreencard-rir.html
I am not against H1B or Green Card holders. I just think company using
bogus job ad is unethical, especially in this job market, creating
untold frustration for other job seekers. The practice should be
stopped, or such job ad should be clearly stated its purpose.
Let’s have a campaign and report those bogus job ads to the
authority.
Let’s get rid of these weeds and have our job market more healthy and
growing.